The Cost of a Drunk

Driving Conviction

First Time Offender

Towing $75+

Car Storage (per day)  $45 +
Defense Attorney $1,500 +

Bail Fee $0 - $500 +
DWI Fine $350 - $1,000
State Surcharges $245 - $395
Ignition Interlock $75-100+

Interlock fee (6 mo min) $420 - $600 +
Alcohol Evaluation $100 +

Victim Impact Panel ~ $10 - $50
Probation Supervision  $0 - $250 +
Conditional License $75

Drinking Driver Prog.  $175 - $300 +
DMV Civil Penalty $125-$750
DWI license reinstate ~ $100

DMV susp. termination $50
Assessment (every 3 yr) $250

Auto Insurance (per yr) $2.000 - $3.000 +

TOTAL: $5,595 - $9,140 +

How a DWI Conviction

Affects Auto Insurance
Little known facts!

An insurance company can deny no fault
coverage (personal injury protection for
medical, rehabilitation, and loss of wages)
to the driver that causes a motor vehicle
crash due to alcohol/drug involvement.

An insurance company can deny parents
whose child resides with them the standard
or preferred rate due to the alcohol related
driving offense of their child. In other
words, the insurance rates for parents
could increase simply because their child
lives with them and has a DWI conviction.

LOCAL RESOURCES

Alcohol/Drug Treatment:
Al-Anon & Al-Teen 561-0838
Alcoholics Anonymous 561-8444
Clinton County Addiction Services 565-4060

Youth Services:
Champlain Valley Family Center 561-8480

Victim Services:

Crime Victim’s Advocates 565-4648
Stop Domestic Violence 563-6904
Police:

Clinton County Sheriff’s 565-4340
New York State Police 563-3761
Plattsburgh City Police 563-3411

SUNY Plattsburgh University
Police 564-2022

Clinton County District Attorney:
Office 565-4770

Clinton County Emergency Services:
Non Emergency 565-4791

In an emergency dial
911

For more information contact

Clinton County STOP-DWI Program
25 McCarthy Drive
Plattsburgh, NY 12901

565-4824
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Facts About
New York’s
.08 BAC

Standard for
Drunk Driving

.08

Don’t blow it.

New York State
STOP-DWI Foundation



What is the .08% Standard
for Driving While

Intoxicated?

What the .08% BAC
Means to the Average
Driver:

The Degree of Impairment
Depends on Four Basic
Factors:

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is
defined as the level of alcohol in the blood
stream.  As the number of alcoholic
beverages consumed over a period of time
increases, so does the BAC. At .08%
BAC, virtually everyone, including
habitual drinkers, experiences some degree
of driving skill impairment affecting eye
movement,  judgment,  coordination,
concentration, and speed control.

In a study published in the Journal of
Studies on Alcohol (May 2000), results
showed that a driver with a .08% BAC can
be up to 50 times more likely to die in a
crash than if he was completely sober
(.00% BAC). At .10% BAC — the former
BAC limit for drunk driving in New York
State - the same driver would be up to 240
times more likely to die in a crash caused
by drunk driving. The degree of
impairment varies for each individual
according to the amount of alcohol
consumed, body weight, length of time
spent drinking, and whether the person ate
before or while drinking alcohol.

Nationally 3 out of 10 people will be in an
alcohol related crash in their lifetime.
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Always Be Aware of How

Much You Drink!

Each of the following drinks
contains an equal amount of
alcohol ...
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Wine | Liquor Wine
5 oz. 1% oz. Cooler

at 12%| 80 proof 12 oz.
at 5%

1. The amount you drink.

2. Whether you’ve eaten before or
while drinking (food slows
absorption).

3. Your body weight.
4. The length of time spent drinking.

Coffee cannot make someone sober.
The person may be more awake, but
just as drunk. Only time can make
someone sober. It takes at least an
hour per drink for the alcohol to leave
the body’s system.

Drivers at .08% BAC are four times
more likely to cause a crash than .00%
drivers.

Drivers at .15% BAC are twenty-five
times more likely to cause a crash than
.00% drivers.

STOP,
DWI 5!




