Q There are occasions when the court
will revoke the probation sentence of a
repeat DWI offender after a violation of
probation. This may result in a period of
incarceration. Will DMV still deny the
offender’s license re-application?

A If the probation sentence has been revoked,
the individual is no longer on probation and no
longer subject to conditions of probation. If
mandatory revocation periods have been
completed, DMV will examine an application for
re-licensing using law and Commissioner’s
Regulations.

Probation agencies may offer information to
DMV regarding the offender’s behavior while on
probation but DMV is under no obligation to
follow recommendations made by probation in
the case of an individual no longer on probation
supervision.

Q Does DMV have access to NYSPIN?

A No.

Q Will DMV approve evaluations from a
provider not certified by NYS Office of
Alcohol and Substance Abuse Services?

A DMV provides all DWI offenders in need of
evaluation reports with a list of treatment
providers in their geographical region. This list is
not limited to agencies certified by OASAS.
DMV will receive evidence of evaluation from
agencies or individuals approved for this list by
the State Education Department and by OASAS.

Probation agencies are urged to direct repeat DWI

offenders to OASAS certified treatment agencies
for evaluation and treatment while on probation.

STOR?
DWI

Q Can a former probationer (whether
revoked after a VOP or discharged) be
prevented from misrepresenting his/her
complete drinking history to a new
evaluator or treatment agency in order to
obtain a new license?

A Whatever agency or individual conducts the
evaluation of a DWI offender, they must complete
and send the DMV form (DS-449) “Alcohol &
Drug Rehabilitative Program Summary” to DMV
and it must include the same number of alcohol
incidents as are reported on the client’s DMV
record. Ifthere is a discrepancy, DMV returns the
form to the agency for correction.

The information in this pamphlet was prepared by
the New York State Division of Probation and
Correctional Alternative with the assistance of the
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Improvement Bureau.

LOCAL RESOURCES

Clinton County Emergency Services:
Non Emergency 565-4791

In an emergency dial
911

For more information contact

Clinton County STOP-DWI Program
25 McCarthy Drive
Plattsburgh, NY 12901

565-4824
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Q Define License Revocation:

A REVOCATION means your license or
privilege to drive is cancelled. To drive again you
must get a new license. You must re-apply to the
DMV once the revocation period is over. Part
136 of the Motor Vehicle Commissioner’s
Regulations provides that a bad driving record or
refusal to meet DMV requirements may cause
your application to be denied. Individuals
applying for a new license after their license has
been revoked for more than one year must take
the written test, obtain a learner’s permit, and pass
the road test. If the license has been revoked for
less that a year, the written and road tests are
waived.

Q When does the revocation period
start?

A Revocation periods start the date of sentence
or date of sentence plus 20 days if the court grants
the 20-day stay. The DMV Order of Suspension
or Revocation is signed and sent to DMV.

Q  What is the period of license
revocation?

A Minimum mandatory license revocation
periods for DWI are 6 months for misdemeanor
convictions and 12 months for felony convictions.
In the case of individuals under the age of 21, the
revocation is for 12 months or until age 21,
whichever is longer. Revocation periods listed in
the DMV literature are mandatory minimum
periods.

Q  When may the individual whose
license has been revoked apply for a new
license?

A DWI offenders not on probation are eligible to
apply for a new license after the mandatory
waiting period is served. However, if the DWI
client is sentenced to probation and is ordered by
the court not to apply for a new license, they may
not apply until (1) the condition of probation has
been removed; or (2) a ‘letter of no objection’
from the appropriate authority has been obtained,
or (3) the expiration of the probation period.

Q Does DMV permanently revoke
drivers licenses?

A Clients whose records include two DWI’s
with physical injury involvement are permanently
ineligible to have their driving privileges restored.
The law states, “In no event shall a new license be
issued where a person has been twice convicted of
a violation of subdivision three or four of sections
eleven hundred ninety-two of this article or of
Driving While Intoxicated or of Driving While
Ability is Impaired by the Use of a Drug where
physical injury, as defined in section 10.00 of the
penal law, has resulted from such offense in each
instance.” (§1193.2(c) (3) of the Vehicle and
Traffic Law)

Q Does DMV extend the revocation
period for repeat DWI offenders?

A The current policy of DMV is to require a
client to serve a period equaling six months for
each alcohol conviction (conviction for DWAI or
DWI) if the driving record contains three or more
alcohol or drug related convictions occurring
within a 10 year period.

(Q What are the DMYV fees required to get
a license restored?

A There is an application fee for those who have
had their license revoked. If your license is
revoked you may not apply for a new license until
you pay a $50 non-refundable re-application fee.

After some revocations, you must pay a state
mandated civil penalty before your application for

anew license can be accepted:

No insurance or uninsured accident revocation -
$500 civil penalty.

~ Continued ~

Chemical Test Refusal with prior refusal or
alcohol related violation within 5 years - $750
civil penalty.

When a license is issued, the standard license fees
are collected.

If you have a mandatory license suspension, you
must pay a $25 fee to terminate a suspension.

Q Who makes the final decision in
regards to re-issue of a license?

A In all instances, DMV issues drivers’ licenses
following the law and the DMV Commissioner’s
Regulations for doing so.

(Q What happens when the offender is no
longer on probation?

A It is normal practice for a probation
department to issue a notice to the offender when
the probation sentence has been terminated.
There are usually three ways this can occur. The
sentence to probation may be terminated as an
early discharge with probationer behavior being
satisfactory or early as the result of a revocation of
the sentence for a violation of probation, or at the
end of the full sentence (maximum expiration
date). This written statement may be used by the
offender to verify to DMV that the condition of
probation “not to apply” for a license is no longer
in effect.

If mandatory revocation periods have been
completed, DMV will examine an application for
re-licensing using law and Commissioner’s
Regulations.

(Q What is the Driver Responsibility
Assessment?

A A person convicted of DWI, DWAI or DWAI
Drugs, or is found to have refused to submit to a
chemical test, must pay a driver responsibility
assessment of $250 each year for three years.




