(Q May 19 and 20 year olds enter bars?

A Yes, though some bars may protect
themselves by prohibiting underage persons from
their premises. A bartender who serves alcohol to
someone under 21 could suffer criminal penalties
plus civil liability if the person becomes
intoxicated and causes injuries or damage. The
bar could lose its license if alcohol is served to
underage patrons.

(Q May underage persons work in bars?

A Yes, a person 18 years of age or older may
serve as a bartender, waiter, waitress, hostess or
bus person, under the supervision of someone 21
or older.

Q What are the benefits of the 21
purchase age?

A The benefits of the 21 purchase age are a 25-
30% decrease in alcohol related crashes involving
19 and 20 year olds, who are responsible for over
100 deaths and 3,500 injuries each year, and an
expected savings of $40 million in societal costs
annually.

If you have information about a teen
alcohol party, an adult (parent) who serves
alcohol to minors or information about
stores or bars that regularly sell to minors,
please call:

The Sheriff’s Department, Local Police
Department or New York State Police
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LOCAL RESOURCES

Alcohol/Drug Treatment:
Al-Anon & Al-Teen 561-0838
Alcoholics Anonymous 561-8444
Clinton County Addiction Services 565-4060

Youth Services:
Champlain Valley Family Center 561-8480

Victim Services:

Crime Victim’s Advocates 565-4648
Stop Domestic Violence 563-6904
Police:

Clinton County Sheriff’s 565-4340
New York State Police 563-3761
Plattsburgh City Police 563-3411

SUNY Plattsburgh University
Police 564-2022

Clinton County District Attorney:
Office 565-4770

Clinton County Emergency Services:
Non Emergency 565-4791

In an emergency dial
911

For more information contact

Clinton County STOP-DWI Program
25 McCarthy Drive
Plattsburgh, NY 12901

565-4824
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When Your Teen is

Giving a Party ...

e Plan in Advance. Discuss the party plans
with your teenager. Know the guest list, so
you can prevent an “open party” situation &
avoid electronic mass emailed invitations.

e  Set definite starting and ending times. Plan
an activity such as swimming, skating or
renting movies. Consider a daytime party.

e  Agree to the rules ahead of time:

No alcohol or other drugs.

No smoking.

No leaving, then returning to the party.
No gate crashers allowed.

Lights will be left on.

Some rooms are off limits.

e Know your responsibilities! Be visible and
aware. You are legally responsible for
anything that may happen to a minor who has
been served drugs or alcohol in your home.

e Invite another parent or couple as company
for you during a long evening, and to help if
there are any problems. When parents
deliver their teens to your house, invite them
in to get acquainted, if only briefly.

When Your Teen is
Going to a Party ...

o Make sure there will be parental supervision
and that no alcohol will be served. A tactful
call to the host may be advisable.

e Know where your daughter or son is going
and with whom. When taking your teen to
parties, go to the door and introduce yourself.
If you already know the family, at least wait
until your child is inside the house.

e Make it easy for your teen to leave a party.
Agree that they can call you (or another
adult) to come for them if there is any reason
why staying is uncomfortable.

e  Urge your teen NEVER to ride home with a
driver who has been drinking.

e Be awake to greet your teen when they come
home.

Q May a parent serve alcohol to teens
and their friends at a parent
supervised party?

A No, the law applies to all situations in which
an underage person is served alcohol by anyone
but his or her parents. A parent serving the young
friends alcohol would be committing a Class A
Misdemeanor under Penal Law §260.20, which
allows a parent or guardian to furnish liquor or
beer to their own child only. The Social Host
Law also applies, exposing the parent to civil
liability for any injury caused by the minor as a
result of intoxication.

Q What will happen to an underage
person who gets caught drinking,
purchasing, or possessing alcohol?

A Any person who presents false identification
to purchase alcohol beverages can receive a fine
of up to $100 and/or community service not to
exceed 30 hours. In addition, there can be a 90-
day suspension of the driver’s license of anyone
who has used it to illegally purchase or attempt to
purchase alcoholic beverages. All driver licenses
and non-driver identification cards for persons
under 21 are imprinted with the statement “under
21 years of age.” Also, another law makes it
illegal for those under 21 to possess alcohol with
an intent to consume it and empowers both police
and peace officers to confiscate the alcohol.

(Q What is the Social Host Law?

A Under General Obligation Law §11-100, any
person who is injured by a minor who is
intoxicated, or whose ability is impaired, may sue
for the resulting damage whoever knowingly
provided the alcohol to the minor.

Q What does the 21 legal purchase age
law mean?

A It means you must be 21 years old to buy
alcoholic beverages in bars, taverns, restaurants,
and clubs or to buy those beverages in liquor
stores and supermarkets. It is also illegal for any
person, over or under 21, to buy alcoholic
beverages for, or give them to, anyone under 21
(except their own child).

Q May children drink at home with their
parents, or be served wine as part of a
religious service?

A Yes. A parent or guardian may serve alcohol
to his or her own child under 21 only at home or
as part of a religious service. The Social Host
Law applies here also.

Q Can a parent or legal guardian buy his
or her underage child an alcoholic
beverage in a licensed establishment, ball
park or private club?

A No, since that would amount to the parent
misrepresenting the age of the child. The law
applies to all licensed facilities.
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