Owner-occupied property that is a one, two, or three-family residence, a mobile home or trailer, a farm home, or a residential condominium or cooperative apartment, and which serves as the primary residence of the owner or that portion of any other type of property which is partially used by the owner as a primary residence, is partially exempt from school district taxes, but liable for general municipal and county taxes, as well as for special ad valorem levies and special assessments. All primary-residence homeowners are eligible for the "Basic" STAR exemption, regardless of age or income. The amount of the basic exemption is $30,000, subject to equalization and other adjustments.
If the exemption is granted, the owner need not reapply in subsequent years to keep this exemption, unless the exemption is discontinued or revoked by the assessor.
New for 2019, if you’re applying or reapplying for the Enhanced STAR exemption, you must enroll in the Income Verification Program (IVP). You only need to enroll once, and you’ll receive the exemption each year, as long as you’re eligible. Enhanced STAR Income Verification Program (IVP) (ny.gov)
Primary-residence owners that meet additional requirements are eligible to receive the "Enhanced" STAR exemption. To be eligible, all property owners must be 65 years of age or older, with incomes that do not exceed $98,700 a year as amended annually according to a cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) used by the Social Security Administration. For purposes of the Enhanced STAR exemption, "income" means the "adjusted gross income" for federal income tax purposes as reported on the applicant's federal or state income tax return for the applicable income tax year, minus any taxable distributions from an Individual Retirement Account (IRA). Low-income seniors who will be receiving the senior citizen exemption will automatically qualify for the STAR exemption, without filing a separate STAR application. Although senior citizens whose annual incomes exceed the eligible income limit for a given year will not be eligible for the Enhanced STAR exemption, they may be eligible for the Basic STAR exemption.
The STAR exemption must be applied after all other applicable exemptions have been applied to the property's assessed value. However, the exemption may not reduce the property's taxable assessed value below zero, nor may any owner receive both the basic and Enhanced STAR exemptions in the same year. Anyone who misrepresents his or her primary residence, age or income on a STAR application may be subject to a $100 penalty, may be prohibited from receiving the STAR exemption for five years, may have to return up to three years of taxes saved by the improperly granted exemption, and may be subject to criminal prosecution.
Please Be Advised
STAR Legislation STAR exemption program (ny.gov)
There have been some changes in how certain homeowners will apply for STAR, and in how they receive their STAR benefit. The STAR program continues to provide much-needed property tax relief to New York State’s homeowners. New applicants who qualify for STAR will register with New York State instead of applying with their assessor. If they qualify, they will receive a STAR credit in the form of a check, rather than receiving a property tax exemption.
To be eligible for a STAR check, you must register with the New York State Tax Department by:
Clicking the Link Below: